New Order Unveil Unreleased Recordings in Upcoming 'Power, Corruption & Lies' Reissue

New Order
Photo Credit
bassist Peter Hook, keyboardist Gillian Gilbert, lead vocalist/guitarist Bernard Sumner and drummer Stephen Morris pose for an October 1989 portrait in New York City, New York

New Order will release an expansive box set of their landmark 1983 album, Power, Corruption & Liesthis fall.

Alongside a remastered version of the album on LP and CD, the reissue will contain an extras CD with previously unreleased writing sessions and the group's 1982 John Peel session.

The collection also features two DVDs of live and TV performance as well as a 48-page hardcover book of rare photos and liner notes by Warren Jackson.

The band is also unveiling individual releases of the 12" vinyl singles that didn't make the album, "Blue Monday," "Confusion," "Thieves Like Us," and "Murder."

The set, currently available for pre-order, will be released October 2. 

The band was set to hit the road with the Pet Shop Boys this year for their co-headlined "Unity" tour. The highly anticipated tour has since been postponed to September and October 2021. 

Power, Corruption and Lies: Definitive Edition Tracklist

Disc One: Power, Corruption and Lies (for CD and LP) (2020 remaster)

“Age of Consent”
“We All Stand”
“The Village”
“5 8 6”
“Your Silent Face”
“Leave Me Alone”

Disc Two: Power Corruption and Lies – Extras (CD)

Writing Session Recordings

“Age of Consent” *
“The Village” *
“5 8 6” *
“Your Silent Face” *
“Ecstacy” *
“Leave Me Alone” *

John Peel Session

“Turn the Heater on “
“We All Stand “
“Too Late “
“5 8 6”

John Peel Session Outtake

“Too Late” (instrumental rough mix) *

New York Session Outtake

“Thieves Like Us” (New York demo #1) *

Writing Session Recordings

“Thieves Like Us” *
“Murder” *
“Blue Monday” *
“Blue Monday” *

Album Session Recordings

“Blue Monday” (Instrumental outtake) *

*Previously unreleased

New Order – Power, Corruption and Lies DVD


Live Shows

The Hacienda, Manchester, 1982 

“In a Lonely Place “
“Ultraviolence “
“Denial “
“The Village “
“We All Stand “
“Senses “
“Chosen Time “
“5 8 6 “
“Temptation “
“Everything’s Gone Green”

Recorded on 26th June, 1982

Artist Name

Read More

(Ebet Roberts/Redferns)
The album came with Def Leppard's one and only #1 single on the Hot 100, "Love Bites."

35 years ago, Echo and the

Paul Natkin/Getty Images
Tina Turner is 'happy to be an 80-year-old woman.'

Facebook Comments